Framework for Romanticism as a sound and morality as an image

Framework for Romanticism as a Sound and Morality as an Image

My study within the scope of this class (which is applicable to my life in general) has been a study on how the natural world can informmorality.  This study began when I starting to look into Egon Schiele’s work as an artist, and later I found out he was also a poet.

In his watercolors on paper, he attempts to ask a question about man’s condition (as seen in the graphic figure below).

Image

In his more refined oil paintings, he attempts to answer to questions proposed in his watercolors as seen below.

Image

Music While Drowning

There were moments when the black river


put a yoke on all my powers.


I saw the small waters large


and the gentle shores steep and high.


Turning, I fought


and heard the waters within me,


the good and beautiful black waters—


then I breathed golden strength again.


The river flowed, rigid and strong.

Poem by Egon Schiele, originally in German

One thought on “Framework for Romanticism as a sound and morality as an image

  1. Gracie, I like framing your entry as “nature and morality,” and indeed Schiele’s work asks provocative questions about it, particularly against the backdrop of European wars, atrocities, etc. Have you seen Joshua Marie Wilkinson’s first book, Suspension of a Secret in Abandoned Rooms? It’s on and about and around Schiele.

Leave a Reply

